Traveling Tuesdays

I promised myself I would establish a blogging schedule so that there was some sort of structure to this hobby, so in addition to Matrimonial Mondays, I’m declaring Tuesday as Traveling Tuesdays (I’m a sucker for alliterations). I love travel blogs and think first hand tips and experiences are the best way to get the most out of a getaway. So, for the first official Traveling Tuesday I’ll pick up with my coverage of our great family Italian vacation.

Euro West Tour Stop 2: Assisi

After Rome we took a bus ride to Venice with a break in Assisi. Assisi was a great little stop. It has a medieval feel, the Roman walls are still standing and it has some beautiful architecture like the gothic Basilica of San Francesco d’Assisi. Assisi is the birthplace of St. Francis, which is who the Husband’s mom was named after, so it meant a lot to be able to tour the Basilica. We even got to watch a prayer service that was taking place in the crypt where St. Francis is buried. The Basilica is at the top of a hill and has some amazing views of the Italian countryside. It’s a very quiet town, but it was the perfect mid-morning stop.

If there wasn’t wine in my hands, there was gelato.

The view from the Basilica.

St. Francis Basilica

Leave a Reply

