Matrimonial Monday

First Anniversary

The Husband and I just celebrated our one year anniversary. Its hard to believe its already been a year, but it has been a great year. We had a fabulous dinner at Mercury Chophouse (look for it in a future Foodie Friday), followed by a beer at one of our favorite local English pubs, Ye Olde Bull and Bush (this is the only place I could get the Husband to sit down and work on wedding stuff). It was a great date night and we spent the evening reliving our favorite moments of the wedding and reminding ourselves how grateful we are to have such great families and friends.

I finally got to give this super cute card from Colette Paperie:

I also read through the journal I started on my wedding day last year (thanks, Michelle) – a neat way to remember all the day to day details and fun and a great gift for brides:

This is a first anniversary tradition that should die:

Not near as good the second time around.

We both made an effort to give the traditional first year gift of paper (or something related to paper), but it was no easy task (I settled on getting him Gardener & the Grill, a great little cookbook for summertime that I saw on Camille Styles). Here are some of the other contenders I had it narrowed down to as well as a few things I wouldn’t have minded receiving:

Field Notes – perfect for the gardener

monogrammed coasters (image from rewardStyle)

1001 Whiskies Book

Smock Wrapping Paper

3 thoughts on “Matrimonial Monday

  1. I love that you two are sticking with the traditional anniversary gifts. Chris and I did that too. He gave me a gift certificate to have my degrees matted/framed and I gave him the piece of paper that showed I had just changed my last name, lol!

Leave a Reply

